Skip to content

Amedeo Modigliani

June 15, 2012

when particulars are forgotten

we are forced to listen to a  pantomime of silence

pursed lips and arched eyebrows

reveal the certainty of symbols

of moments purified through a crucible

 

she bore your life in her stomach

you watched the daily growth of a mountain

then one day a landslide capitulated

eyes lost their irises

vision was either free-floating or inwards

“Modigliani- painter and Jew” was your calling card

the women swooned

what else could they do?

out of pubic hair you made Venus De Milos

the lice , high on hashish

disagreed

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(some recent drawings)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2012 9:50 am

    Your making me jealous!!! Diggin your use of pastels…You know your stuff! Do you aspire to Egon Schiele’s work by any chance?

    • June 15, 2012 9:56 am

      thank you. Schiele is one of my favorite artists, Soutine and Otto Dix make up the rest of my artistic trinity. I aim to go beyond Schiele. these drawings/drawings are preparation for paintings which I hope will matriculate into a one-man show by year’s end

      • June 15, 2012 10:11 am

        I love Schiele as well! Your work is very inspiring to me… not many post catch my eye. I work most with my figures in conte’, and love to draw on rolls of brown craft paper. If you don’t mind me asking, what paper do you use?
        I wish you luck with you one man show and please keep us posted I would love to see!

      • June 15, 2012 10:16 am

        thanks. just regular craft paper from my Utrecht art supply store 🙂

  2. June 15, 2012 10:09 am

    The artistic level of both poetry and pastels is very high. thanks!

  3. June 21, 2012 8:10 pm

    amazing work. a new fan, here.

Leave a Reply

