Skip to content

What if

April 24, 2012
so. what if
you drew as if what you are drawing will disappear forever- as if your vision was a rare accident, as if -tomorrow -your fingers were sentenced to be cut off? what if , for once, you truly lived , as if you will never live again?

we do things as if we were immortal. we know, intellectually, we aren’t. but there is no real fear. the fear is a burning field we need to walk through. I see my dog everyday- but sometimes I realize I have never really “seen” her. what if you hugged someone as if you’d never see them again? made food for someone as if it’s their last meal or it’s the last meal you’ll be allowed to make? what if you ate- what if you made love- or , for every breath – you breathed as if it was going to be your last? would it make a difference? and is it a tenable

 

Upside-down

 

Union Square
7:30 am drizzle
puddle-city grinning

 

upside-down.

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2012 1:21 pm

    Beautiful words and the drawing is amazing. (I want it!)

  2. April 24, 2012 2:39 pm

    Reminds me of lucien freud and jenny saville, I love it.

    • April 25, 2012 12:28 am

      thanks- I’m a fan of Freud’s. wish I was in London right now- huge show on him- and there’s also a Euglow show as well…

Leave a Reply

