Skip to content

Spring Studio

April 20, 2012

How appropriate. It’s spring and I finally made it to the legendary Spring Studio  (http://www.newyorkartworld.com/CityArt/things-springstudio.html)   yesterday. It was my day-off and was trying to figure out what to do with my night. Apparently this place has been holding life drawing sessions  7  days a week (!) since the early 1990’s.  How cool is that. It’s also conveniently located off the Spring St. train station. I didn’t realize it was down a flight of steps to a basement. I had to cross and re-cross the street until I finally saw “64” over the door.And they have a rotating one-man exhibit around the room.  Currently they have Masha Braslavsky’s drawings and paintings up. I thought the paintings were more interesting. They vaguely remind me of Paul Delvaux…

Anyway I thought it was a welcome break from my more personal private drawing sessions. The poses were standard “art school” poses, but the model was good and professional. Perhaps I could meet new people there, new contacts. I’ve been playing hermit for a while and I really need to start networking again. I’m planning another group show this June.

Spring Studio may become a regular Thursday ritual~

 

( drawings I did from Spring Studio- the 2 paintings are by Masha Braslavsky)

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2012 10:36 am

    like these VERY much!

  2. April 23, 2012 6:12 pm

    Nice work! So glad you finally made it down to the one and only Spring Studio! Hope you do make it a regular ritual.

Leave a Reply

