Skip to content

Getting Ready For Group Show…

June 23, 2011

Some  paintings I’m working on, hopefully to be ready for my show…

This last one is off a webcam. I’ve been doing portraits, sketches and figure paintings off a webcam recently. I’ve been looking for some type of break through and I think this is it. The camera distortion  encourages me to stretch myself a bit and not  get too bogged down with mere verisimilitude. Also because of the close cropping the shapes and rhythms are more pronounced, things I’m very sensitive to.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 29, 2011 1:49 pm

    That’s an interesting thing you mentioned. I’ve never tried to do anything that was cropped or perhaps lack a macro or whatnot. I can understand what you’re trying to do though. How large are your pieces? I’ve never rendered from a life model (yet) but enjoy the webcam or photo reference aspect a lot. Your working is coming along very well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

