Skip to content

Drawing Marathon at Pratt’s 4/15-4/16/2011

April 16, 2011

I finally made it to Pratt’s annual drawing marathon, now in its 23rd year. It started Friday at 7pm and ended Saturday at 7 am.

When it comes to drawing, I don’t have the patience to mince details. I would rather put that time into  painting. For me, drawing is more visceral. Painting for me is a mix of analysis and intuition- just because the medium allows/ encourages accretion and erasure; it  is akin to rumination,  a full-scale war with strategies and tactics.  Drawing is like devouring things, or, to keep the war simile , like hand-to-hand combat.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2011 11:20 pm

    Fantastic sketches!! Wonderful movement and energy. I have yet to pose for the Pratt Marathon. I’ve missed two opportunities, but hopefully someday. Looks like it was a great session. Thanks for sharing these!

    Claudia

    • April 18, 2011 3:09 pm

      yeah it was wonderful- lots of great models and sketchers. I aim to go every year from now on

  2. April 22, 2011 9:54 am

    Beautiful work. I love that your journal/drawings showed variety and yet I could definitely see the detail and understanding of the forms of your models. After I move next week I wanted to get into doing some human anatomy studies. What size paper (other than the I think 18×25 newsprint) do you suggest for studies and perhaps detailed charcoal or conte drawings?

    • April 22, 2011 5:41 pm

      hey thanks. for anatomy studies or any drawing it doesn’t matter what size paper you use- whatever size is comfortable for you. The standrard 18×25 newsprint is great for loosening up when you’re doing gestures . It’s usually better to go smaller if you’re doing more detailed drawings. If you’re just learning anatomy- any piece of paper is fine- you don’t want to get too precious too soon- your aim is to learn

      • April 23, 2011 8:16 am

        My comfort zone with paper has always been 11×14 or smaller and usually with realistic portraits done with pencil. It was suggested for me to start practice and get looser (while getting the hang with the body) to start practicing with gesture and/or conture drawing as well as try to draw larger? I’m finding it so odd to work with my charcoal pencils or vine or compressed charcoal again as each quick drawing I do is not refined. hehe I’m not a perfectionist but I’m set in my ways. Also, my goal is never to use an eraser. ahaha I found a nice pad of 9×12 newsprint hiding under one of my portfolios so I’ve been playing around with that. I do have the 18 x 25 newsprint but I won’t break that open until I move next week I think. What type of sketchbook is that you’re using? Did you have to use fixative to keep it from smudging etc?

Leave a Reply

