Skip to content

Letter #1

January 10, 2011

I’ve been saving sunsets and sunrises
jokes and places and pithy summaries
for you on the other other side of the planet
or five  seats in the dark of this  theater making out
or three blocks down walking the dog
just the other day I had an epiphany
some day soon you will be so proud of me
we’ll celebrate with red wine and  bump laughing glasses
I’ll run my hand slowly up and down your back
as we watch a  plane swim across  the  sky
and I will breath through your pulse,  your slightest tremors
in the morning,  sipping coffee
I’ll tug  the blanket over your feet
in my head, the line:
“I have heard the mermaids singing,
each to each”

 

 

 

 

 


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

